Eminem Confessions

ALBUM TITLE                                 :           REVIVAL

ARTIST                                              :           EMINEM

YEAR RELEASEAD                           :           2017

GENRE                                              :           POP


I think that it is but natural for artist with longer careers to dwell on confessions.  Thus, you have “Confessions on A Dance Floor’ by Madonna.  An album that is full of personal admission on life and everything else. In the case of Eminem, his confession album is a matter of time and it came sooner at the age of 45 years old.  However, the confessions he made on this album is not at all striking as there is nothing new to reveal about himself.  Listeners will sneer at some of his verses on this album as “I’ve heard it all before;” not only from Eminem but from confessions of other artists.

Listen to audio video of his collaboration with Ed Sheeran in “River.”

Musically, there is nothing new.  It is still loaded with piano and verse combination.  If you are looking for results of his rapping genius showed in earlier albums, then you can pass this album and look forward on his tenth album and hope that it will be better.  The album can be considered as a lazy album as there are quite a number of songs that borrows hooks and melodies and mashed them into his verses such as Joan Jett’s “I Love Rock and Roll,’ and The Cranberries “Zombies.”  His duet with Beyonce could not be considered as a career move for the R and B queen.  “Walk on Water” is not as groovy as the one Eminem did with Rihanna. Even his collaboration with Alicia Keys is not as impressive with what she did with Jay-Z in “My Boo.” Thank God that his collaboration with Ed Sheeran is impressive.

Watch lyric video of “Walk On Water’ in here.

As a whole, the album is another welcome addition for his loyal fans.  I rate this record 3 stars only.



ALBUM TITLE                                 :           REPUTATION

ARTIST                                              :           TAYLOR SWIFT

YEAR RELEASEAD                          :           2017

GENRE                                              :           POP


In 1989, Taylor Swift made the big leap from country to pop.  With Reputation, one can tell that she is finally saying goodbye to her country roots as the album is as generic as any cough syrup that one can buy in neighborhood pharmacy.  However, you can tell that Ms. Swift talent lies in crafting lyrics that are not the usual verse that hear from the normal pop songs nowadays.   Indeed, you cannot fault her for not writing tired and clichés or committing lack of creativity by rhyming New York with dork (hello Madonna.)

Watch Ready For It in here


Musically, the album feels like a rehash of what Rihanna, Pink, Madonna, and other noted pop girls at the moment.  You can actually imagine other singers like Beyonce singing “Ready for It” as this song is just as fierce as any song that you can find in Beyonce’s Lemonade album.  You can even hear some familiar strain and instruments of any Bjork song in “Don’t Blame Me.” The lyrics of this song is crafted like a Lady Gaga song; “Oh, Lord, save me, my drug is my baby
I’ll be usin’ for the rest of my life.”
These words felt like a continuation to Lady Gaga’s line in “Dope;’ Stay with me, “Bell Bottom Blue”
I’ll keep on searching for an answer, ’cause I need you more than dope.

The hit single ‘Look What You Made Me Do,’ is like a 90’s rap along the line of INOJ’s “Love You Down.” DJ’s would have field day mashing up these two songs.

Watch “Look What You Made Me Do’”


The album is not without weaknesses, in fact “So It Goes” is one of the weak songs in this new album. By the time you reached to this song, you might want to say “uh hu.”  The song is crafted musically like some songs that chords were reversed and tempo were slowed down.  Now, you might be surprised with the song ‘Gorgeous” as it sounds like one of Katy Perry songs. The music by the time you reach the lyrics “ocean blue eyes looking mine” sounds like a line musically from Perry’s “Unconditionally.” Another weakness of this album is that it tries to be fiercely pop, and the result is that after repeat listening, there is that lingering notion that everything about in this album is all about familiarity.  Music and harmonies heard before from other singers, melodies that sounds like samples of music from long ago. Mix of genre that at times can be considered success and in some songs it sounded like a hurried mash ups.

Watch lyric video of “Gorgeous” in here.


I believe this album will not be elevated to classic album status in the future.  I rate this album 3.5 stars for being likeable album but not great to command repeat listening years after.

A Flicker of Hope for Music

Album                                    :           Flicker

Artist                                      :           Nial Horan

Genre                                     :           Pop

Date Released                       :           2017


From time to time, you get to listen to a very simple album in terms of style and music.  The kind of record that you will cherish to listen as it stands out musically when compared to the current trend.  This album by former member of One Direction is that kind of record.  It is simple yet engaging, it is simple but full of heart. Here is a track by track review of the album.

  1. Fire Away – an engaging melancholic song it reminds you of classic ballads of the 70s.
  2. Flicker- its the consistent timber and tone quaçity of his voice that makes this song worth listening if you are trying to contemplate or sleep.



Screenshot from YouTube

3. Mirrors – its the folk song characteristics  and upbeat at that you will desire to listen to this song repeatedly.

4. On My Own – is a song that you will be mistaken as James Blunt or Zayn Malik. yes the sound is very generic.

5. On The Loose – may not speak of his verstality as an artist but somehow it will speak of his courage to pay homage to old singing groups of long ago like America.

Listen to the song in here

6. Paper Houses – starts like a marching song then evolve like a song that you can sing while enjoying the swing or slide in the park.

7.  Seeing Blind – you can say that this singer is inspired with older artist as in this song you can say this is how Bob dylan amd The Beatles sounds when the two will collaborate in a song.

8.  Since We’re Alone – reminds you again of love song in the early 80 such as Marty Balin’s “Hearts.”

Watch live performance of “Since We’re Alone” in here

9.  Slow Hands – is perhaps the most current in terms of sounds.

10.  This Town – will malke you think of Harry Styles in terms of song quality and musical style.

11. The Tide- is like listening to a bruce springsteen track in the albim Tunnel Of Love.

        12. You and Me – proves that niall has the vocal ability to sing any kind of musical genre.

13. Too Much To Ask – is the weakest song in this album. Watch the video in here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ljXSjIph5ZM

from too much to ask

Screenshot from YouTube

If you are convinced that music nowadays is no longer about music but generic offering, then this album is a flicker of hope to your desire to listen to a different kind of music.  As a whole, this album can be considered as alternative album because of the retro feel.  I rate this record 4 stars