HARD CANDY IS STILL CHEWABLE AFTER 8 YEARS

ALBUM                                 :           HARD CANDY

ARTIST                                  :           MADONNA

GENRE                                   :           POP / DANCE / EDM

DATE RELEASED                 :           2008

^&^&^&^&^&****&&&^^^&&**##**&&^^%%^#$%^%$#$%%^%$#$%^&&^%^&

It has been eight years since this album was first released.  Thus, I need to listen to this again and review to see if the album is still good or bad today.  HARD CANDY is the succeeding studio album of Madonna following her back to roots album called CONFESSIONS ON A DANCEFLOOR.  Many Madonna followers were expecting a reinvention on this album as she is known not to repeat herself musically.

Watch “4 Minutes To Save The World” in here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aAQZPBwz2CI.

However, this is not the case. She turned to R and B following the backlash Erotica did to her career.  This time around, she relied on R and B after the mild success she got with her AMERICAN LIFE album. And she did not waste time and resources as she got on board not only R and B masters but emerging hip hop superstars at this time like Pharrel and Kanye West. Of course, it was a big deal that Justin Timberlake was in this to help her achieve relevance and currency.

Watch “Give It To Me” in here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aQRLSBUNupg.

Eight years after, I can say that I still like the same song.  I still prefer “Give It To Me” over “4 Minutes To Save The World” which for me becomes an inane song as I listen to it more often.  I still like “Beat Goes On” and still wished that she should have made this as one of the promotional singles if not commercial singles. It is still awkward for me to listen to her singing “everybody get down, till my booty get down” in “Heartbeat.  I can still feel her being naughty and haughty in “She’s Not Me.” I still like the way she played innocent in “Incredible.”

Watch live performance of “She’s Not Me” from her STICKY AND SWEET tour in here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ers82PeYLZ0

After 8 years, I can say that time did not help improve my dislike for some songs in this album such as “Spanish Lesson” which I can finally conclude that this is indeed a filler song and a dark spot on Madonna’s songwriting abilities. With regard to “Miles Away,” I say that it could have worked better had she made this a heartfelt ballad ala “Live To Tell.” Her 2nd duet with Justin Timberlake “Dance2Night” sounds like a reworking or a rip-off of Justin’s “SexyBack.” This is probably the reason why I am still edgy on this track as I like it but hate it at the same time; though the balance favors on the like side at this time. I still skip “Devil Wouldn’t Recognize You.”

Watch official video of “Miles Away” in here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pWtZT-TZtQ8

I believe this album ages gracefully as current music becomes boring and monotonous.  The good thing about this record is that each song is totally different from each other.  Each song has distinct hooks and melodies thus, they do not sound alike.  This is not the case with current pop albums where it is filled with songs with similar hooks and melodies.  Thus, I say that this album still deserve a 3.5 stars out of 5 stars. I say musically, the album can be considered ahead of its time; think “Give It To Me” vs “Blurred Lines.”

Watch concert clip from STICKY AND SWEET tour of “The Beat Goes On’ in here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QW-z1JOjwRo.

RATING DESCRIPTION

1 stars = Ignore it

2 stars = risk it

3 stars = borrow or buy it

4 stars = buy it and keep it

5 stars = buy, keep, and treasure it

