Daily Prompt: Giant

via Daily Prompt: Giant

If my friends think that they really know me, then they are in for big disappointment if they learn from this article that the word GIANT is associated with an obscure 80’s band called GIANT STEPS. I first discovered this band while watching a movie.  I heard one of their songs in the movie LOVERBOY which starred a young Patrick Dempsey then.  The song was the opening soundtrack of that movie.

Here is the official video of “Another Lover” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xGxwWA10jHA&spfreload=10.

I was in love with the hook and melody of the song especially on the part where the band sang “the world don’t need another lover.”  So, after watching the movie, off I went to my favorite record bar.  There was no internet in Zamboanga City, Philippines in 1989 so I had to contend with guessing and pointing at cassette tapes on display hoping that I would find the song.

It took me months to discover the band.  Though there was a title credit that rolled on the screen after the movie.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to read it as my friends who went with me watching the movie really wanted to go home.  Thus, the reason for the difficulty of finding the band and the song.  So, I bought and bought cassette tapes and one day, I finally bought GIANT STEPS album on cassette tapes.

I was so happy that I finally have my copy of the song and more surprises for me as I discovered that their album THE BOOK OF PRIDE contain so many good songs such as INTO YOU, DREAM WONDERFUL, THE BOOK OF PRIDE, and STEAMY.

Watch official video of “Into You” here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jn08bD_8_8o.

 

 

Leave a Reply

