ALBUM                                 :           BECAUSE WE LOVE YOU

ARTIST                                  :           STEPHEN DUFFY

GENRE                                   :           POP

DATE RELEASED                 :           1986


This album was released 30 years ago and there is no issue if the songs in here might be quite dated to some especially if they did not grow up in the 80’s.  For a start, let me state me first that Stephen Duffy is one of the original members of Duran Duran.  This is an important factor that you have to consider when listening to this album as there are shades of Duran Duran in some of the songs in here.  Songs like “We’ll Never Argue” and “Love Station” are somewhat similar to songs in Duran Duran’s SEVEN AND THE RAGGED TIGER album.

As a solo album, it might not ranked up there as one of the greatest albums ever but you can tell that this album is one that you would end up listening again in full; not just selecting few songs. Here is a short track by track review of the tracks in here.

  • Something Special – feels like listening to a Broadway musical song.

Listen to this song in this link https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XXRjb76zL9k.

  • A Lot Of Ink – this song belongs to typical 80’ song; it even has shades of “Africa’ by Toto in the first part of the song.

Listen to this song in here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QzLLSHD7xrk&index=69&list=PLo6ORX1JCJAj-zRmGYuhoDyWQ9o0Rt9xN.

  • Sunday Supplement – is quite jazzy and quite similar with George Michael’s “Kissing A Fool” in terms of musical treatment.
  • Why Shouldn’t I – is a song that you might find in Al Jarreau or George Benson’s record.
  • Unkiss That Kiss – unfortunately is a generic 80’s filler songs but with Stephen Duffy’s vocal, the song transform into a cute teeny bop song.

Listen to this song in here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TQtrK2V-ABE.


  • I Love You – the most radio friendly of all the tracks in this song.

Watch “I Love You” in here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qO06T5eoRPs

  • When You Go To Bed – feels like listening to George Michael’s “Jesus To A Child.” However, this song was released in 1986 and Michael’s was released in 1997.  You be the judge.
  • Love Station – had a great soaring intro but it did not manage to transcend into a more memorable song. At its worst, the song is like a New Kids On The Block anthem.
  • We’ll Never Argue – feels like an early Duran Duran entry; of course, he was one of the original founders.
  • Julie Christie – boring and pretentious song.

Generally the whole album is musical bliss as even boring and pretentious song can be considered a cut above the rest in terms of lyrics. Thirty years after, I give this record 4 stars despite being dated in terms of sounds still there are lots of good hooks and melodies and each song is really different from each other thus the whole album is not really boring but exciting musically.


1 stars = Ignore it

2 stars = risk it

3 stars = borrow or buy it

4 stars = buy it and keep it

5 stars = buy, keep, and treasure it


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s