ALBUM          :      99¢

ARTIST                                  :           SANTIGOLD

GENRE                                   :           POP / DANCE/ REGGAE

DATE RELEASED                 :           2015


Santigold is one performer that deserved to be up there. She should have accomplished what SIA did; Billboard Hot 100 number 1 song, hit album, and radio airplay.  While she made a splash with her debut album way back in 2008 but it seems music fans treated her like a novelty artist and entrenched her as a one hit wonder.  It is quite a pity when this third album has all the ingredients of a possible classic album.

It is quite rare for a reggaton album where all tracks do not sound alike.  Here is a track by track review of the album.

  • Can’t Get Enough of Myself – talks about believing in oneself without using trite and cliché words. The song is easy on your ears and no hitting high notes; it is like rap meets pop.

Watch official video of “Can’t Get Enough Of Myself” here

  • Big Boss Big Time Business – in this track she supported her claimed of being confident by telling others not to mess with her as she was taught so well by her mom on how to be testy and fiery.
  • Banshee – is about breaking free and with campfire music structure it is like dancing beside the fire seducing oneself and feeling the high upon discovery of self-empowerment.
  • Chasing Shadows – could pass up as a Rihanna song and it talks about the loneliness of fame.

Watch official video of “Chasing Shadows” here

  • Walking In Circle – is a haunting song about experiencing emptiness of life.
  • Who Be Lovin’ Me – felt like listening to a lover’s quarrel who are on a long distance love affair. The vibe of the song is like listening to a nineties rap group.
  • Rendezvouz Girl – is like a homage to The Go-Go’s as it has a familiar vibe with Belinda Carlisle’s group famous song “We’ve Got The Beat.”

Listen to audio recording of “Rendevouz Girl” here

  • Before The Fire – could have made a better impact if this song was arranged before or after the “Banshee” song.
  • All I Got – the song is good, it integrates new wave and 80’s song musical structure with reggae beat and as a result you have a song that works like a personal anthem.

Watch live performance of “All I Got” here

  • Outside The War – sounds like a U2 song, only this time, Bono decided to be generous and gave the song to Santigold.
  • Run The Races – this song will be a good mash-up with that of Madonna’s song from the REBEL HEART album called “Queen.”
  • Who I Thought You Were – is another song that might enhanced that notion that this is an 80’s album as you can feel the vibe of this track like a Cyndi Lauper track in the 80’s.
  • Watch live performance of “Who I Thought You Were” here

One more thing, there is this feeling after listening to the whole album that this is “The Musical Youth” album because the vocal performance and a song or two sounds like “Pass The Dutchie.”  However, it doesn’t mean that this feeling would ruin whole album.

Indeed, Santigold has proven herself again that she deserved to be notice by millions of listeners out there.  With that, I rate this record with 4 stars out of 5 stars.


1 stars = Ignore it

2 stars = risk it

3 stars = borrow or buy it

4 stars = buy it and keep it

5 stars = buy, keep, and treasure it



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s