This David Bowie’s final album and many are curious without a doubt as to the quality of this record. He is a rock legend and is one of the most eclectic and creative artists of all time. Thus, fans and non-fans expect an excellent album with Blackstar. The verdict is that it may not rank as his best album but definitely at par with his other releases and even better than more than one half of his entire output.
Definitely, this record will give Adele a run of her money comes award season next year. Here is a track by track review of the album.
  • Blackstar – is what you can consider as the most creative track in this album. It has no screaming Bowie and instead experimented with Sgt.Peppers Lonely Hearts Club like track. It is like listening to a fusion of Beatles and Pink Floyd musicin this record.
  • “Tis A Pity She Was A Whore – is a throwback to his Modern Love era. It is like listening to a Bowie. Reading from the title, you would think that this song is sad. However, the music is quite celebratory and the voice is classic Bowie which would remind you of his classic hit “China Girl.”
  • Lazarus – has a guitar riff that sounds like it is lifted from Radiohead’s Creep. Ironically, the whole ambience of the song is not about being angry but rather the guitar and the sax made the song quite reflective. It is like an ode to life song.
  • Sue (Or In A Season of Crime) – this track is like listening to a movie soundtrack. In fact, while you listen to it, scenes from The Avengers will reflect in your mind.
  • Girl Loves Me – at first, this track might sound like the odd man out in this record as it sounds like a novelty song. As the song progresses, you will realize that the song is quite celebratory but not in a faster beat or mode but rather it sounds like a happy lullaby.
  • Dollar Days – a throwback song that you will associate this one to his early recordings.
  • I Can’t Give Everything Away – is the most radio friendly track in this record. Indeed, it is quite odd that Lazarus was chosen as the lead single when this is the most pop record in this album.
With that, I rate this final album of David Bowie with 4 stars.
Ratings Description:
1 star = Ignore it
2 stars= risk it ,you
3 stars = borrow or buy it
4 stars = buy it and keep it
5 = buy, keep, and treasure it

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s