ALBUM TITLE                        :        STORYTELLER

ARTIST                                   :        CARRIE UNDERWOOD

GENRE                                    :        COUNTRY

DATE RELEASED                   :        2015


With an album titling Storyteller, you will indeed be curious as to what kind of stories you will hear in each of the song featured in this record.  Since she became popular as a country performer, she showed a lot of maturity in terms of musicality.  She sings very emotional songs with very heart breaking themes that really touch your heart.  Do we   expect another heavy country songs from her on this record? Let us discover then.

  • Renegade Runway – is not an emotional song as it only tells to avoid loving someone whom you cannot handle.
  • Dirty Laundry – is an interesting take on womanizing and how she will definitely act on it and leave the man bleed and dry.
  • Church Bells – tells a story about a girl who married a rich guy but ended up like a punching bag. And then one day, she decided to end all her miseries and kill him.
  • Hearbeat – there is nothing great in this song in terms of stories to tell. It is the usual song about being with someone and how it shatters one’s sensibilities by being in love with that person.
  • Smoke Break – there’s more to it in this song instead of just accepting it as an alibi for stopping for a drink and / or a smoke. The song is a reminder that everything in this world should be handled well not excessively.
  • Choctaw Country Affair – is a stuff that you read in countless romance novels. It is a tired story about love triangles, gold diggers, and public scandal.  This song destroyed what she achieved in “Church Bell” that is telling a more important topic instead of clichés.
  • Like I’ll Never Love You Again – is supposed to be a seduction song but ended up like just one of filler songs in an album. It lacks the inherent sensuality that you find in many pop hits about seduction like “Let’s Get It On” by Marvin Gaye and “Crazy For You” by Madonna.
  • Chaser – at this point in this album, you will realize that Carrie Underwood became a generic country artist singing songs about alcohol and how it will make them stronger. She sings it like any male country performer doing drinking songs only that Carrie decided to use alcohol to deal with two timing man.
  • Relapse – is power and control song destined to be misunderstood. It speaks about “one for the last time,” tasting a forbidden lover and ending up not feeling guilty about it.  The misunderstanding centers on the line “I am not hurting anybody, but only me.”
  • Clock Don’t Stop – if you are a Madonna fan, you feel like singing “time goes by so slowly for those who wait” during the song introduction. But that is just the only similarity, oh wait there is “ring ring telephone” in the middle.
  • The Girl You Think I Am – a female empowerment song but somehow fails in the sense that the whole song insinuates that while she may have gain control her life, however, she is still holding on to the impression other people expected from her.
  • Mexico – the a little bit slow tempo of the song, did not create the excitement that it wants to illicit in this Bonnie and Clyde type of song.
  • What I Never Knew I Always Wanted – – a feel good song about making life’s changing decision. She has joined the ranks of female pop singers singing songs for their children like Gloria Estefan did in “Najib Song” for example.

Now, the whole album lacks seriousness in terms of storytelling.  In terms of stories, there are only two or three worthy songs.  The rest of the songs can be considered pop in terms of lyrically elements; trite and cliché lyrics and themes.  Musically, it is a good thing that she decided not to cross and merge country and pop.  Thus, the whole album generated some kind of charm because of the relying on the country genre.  Had this been a pop album, it could have been a disaster.

Thus, I rate this record 3.5 stars out of 5 stars.

Ratings Description:

1 star = Ignore it

2 stars= risk it

3 stars = borrow or buy it

4 stars = buy it and keep it

5 = buy, keep, and treasure it


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s