ALBUM TITLE                        :        SWEET FREAK

ARTIST                                   :        BRAND NEW HEAVIES

GENRE                                    :        R AND B / ACID JAZZ

DATE RELEASED                   :        2014

The band quite made an impact with their minor hit “Never Stop” during the early nineties.  Thus, it is quite a surprise that two decades after, this acid jazz and r and b band is still producing records.  Here is a track by track review of their 2013 opus.

  • Sweet Freak – proves that Dawn Joseph was a good choice to replace Ndea Davenport and Siedah Garret. She has the voice that will put to shame Janet Jackson’s whimper as Dawn can do better.  Yes, both singers do sound alike.
  • Sledgehammer – a wonderful and danceable beat on this Peter Gabriel hit. The horn section is quite a departure from the synthesizer laden on Gabriel’s original version.
  • In The Name of Love – the kind of song that will make your hips sway while sipping a drink or two in clubs and lounges. In this days when EDM sounds rule the club, this track is an excellent throwback when disco and divas ruled the clubs and lounges.
  • Bring The Rain – the vibe of this song will make you conclude that this track is produced by Quincy Jones. It has the same feel with his “Ai No Corrida” track during the early eighties.
  • 95” Tonight – perhaps the most relaxing song in this record. It is like a tribute song when dance songs rely only on raw and usual instruments instead of peppering it with digital noises.
  • Please To Meet Ya – is the usual Brand New Heavies sound; loaded with 70’s groove and Motown vibe.
  • Get On – in this song, the band prove once and for all that acid jazz should never be about boring songs.
  • We Live For The Summer – here’s another track that will give you more reason to pay more attention to this band; good vocals, funky guitar strumming, and of course danceable beat.
  • Self Portrait – sound like Lou Reed is in the house while you listen to this record because of the guitar performance. However, the track is quite too hip hop for loyal and purist fans of Brand New Heavies.
  • You Are The Fire – is perhaps the most generic song in this record. You can say that you have heard this kind of music early on their career.
  • Don’t Let Go – is a very groovy cover version of En Vogue’s most popular hit. Who would have thought that trip hop and acid jazz version of this r and b ballad would generate this kind of vibrant performance for Brand New Heavies female lead vocalist?

The whole album is a manifestation why this band is still active after two decades.  As such, I give this record 4 stars rating for the band’s ability to put freshness into their music despite their longetivity.

Ratings Description:

1 star = Ignore it

2 stars= risk it

3 stars = borrow or buy it

4 stars = buy it and keep it

5 = buy, keep, and treasure it


One thought on “HEAVY ON GOOD TRACKS

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s