In The Grand Scheme of Recording This Is Not A Grand Album But Definitely Big on Good Music

ALBUM REVIEW               :           BIG LOVE

ARTIST                                  :           SIMPLY RED

GENRE                                  :           POP

DATE RELEASED               :           2015


I am always excited each time that there is a new album from Simply Red.  Personally, this artist is one of the most consistent in terms of the quality of work.  While the group still have to produce one great classic album, all of its releases are not wanting of good music.  Very often over half of the total number of songs in each of their records are very good.  So, what’s the verdict in this record? Here is a track by track review of the whole album.

  • Shine On – apparently this song has Macarena type intro but just that’s it. This is so typical of Simply Red to have a feel good music in their albums.
  • Daydreaming – very Motown in fact the vocals is so like Smokey Robinson. One of the best tracks in this record.
  • Big Love – not so mushy tribute song about extraordinary love.
  • The Ghost of Love – this song reminds you of Barry White with his Love Theme song.
  • Dad – ironically, this is a lullaby but not for children but for daddy. I feel that this is a continuation of “For Your Babies” song.
  • Love Wonders – for other artists, this song could be a filler but with Simply Red the soothing vocals of Mick Hucknail, prevented the song from being an ordinary song.
  • Love Gave Me More – is an indication that Simply Red write very good original songs.
  • Tight Tones – this reminds you just how wide the musical influences Simply Red has. In this song, the group just proved that they are not fully adept with jazz, soul, reggae, but they can also merge several musical genre into one good song.
  • Woru – very funky take about asking the real self.
  • Coming Home – has a song intro more or less similar to “De Do Do Do De Da Da Da” by the Police.
  • The Old Man and The Beer – could have been more wonderful song had it been given big band treatment.
  • Each Day – might not be a strong song to end the album but it a good song to summarize what this album all about; full of original songs only Simply Red can deliver.

With so many great songs in this record, it deserves to garner 4 stars out of 5 stars.

Ratings Description:

1 star = Ignore it

2 stars= risk it

3 stars = borrow or buy it

4 stars = buy it and keep it

5 = buy, keep, and treasure it


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s